Bills select 2014 team captains

Posted Sep 1, 2014

As selected by the team, the Bills have named six team captains for the 2014 season.

ORCHARD PARK, NY ā€“ The Buffalo Bills today announced CB Corey Graham, RB Fred Jackson, LB Brandon Spikes, DT Kyle Williams, DE Mario Williams and C Eric Wood have been selected by their teammates as captains for the 2014 season.

Kyle Williams and Jackson are fourth-time captains for Buffalo while Wood is a second-time captain. Mario Williams, Spikes and Graham are all first-time captains with the Bills.

Each player will have a letter ā€˜Cā€™ affixed to their uniform to signify this honor. Their responsibilities include assisting in the on-field communication with the game officials.

In May 2007, the NFL introduced the team captain initiative with the purpose of supporting and recognizing the importance of team leadership. The initiative has been strongly endorsed by the NFL head coaches and by the six-member NFL Player Advisory Council that was established by Commissioner Roger Goodell in conjunction with the NFL Players Association.