Skip to main content

Bills Records are tough to be broken


Records are meant to be broken. However, some take more work than others.

These five records set by the Buffalo Bills as a team and individually may never be surpassed.

1. Most Consecutive AFC Championship victories

Who can forget the glory years in the early '90s?

I was basically still in diapers, but I do remember that the Bills were on top.

The Bills are the only team in NFL history to win four consecutive AFC Championships (1990-1993).

The era of unrestricted free agency didn't begin until after the Bills' Super Bowl run. The ability of a player to hit the open market after four years makes it impossible for successful teams to hang onto all of their best talent long enough to get to the Super Bowl two years in a row, let alone four.

2. The Comeback GameAs the years pass, the number of people who claim to have been in attendance for the wild-card playoff game between the Bills and Houston Oilers in 1993 probably would have required it to have been played in a stadium twice the size of the Ralph.

The fact is, the game wasn't even sold out and, therefore, wasn't seen on television in Western New York. And when the Bills -- playing without injured Hall-of-Fame quarterback Jim Kelly and running back Thurman Thomas -- fell behind by 32 points less than two minutes into the third quarter, many of the fans who were there began heading for the exits.

But with the steady Frank Reich behind center, the Bills staged an "un-Bill-lievable" rally to win in overtime, 41-38, for the largest comeback in NFL history.

*3.  Rushing Simpson *
O.J. Simpson became the first player in NFL history to rush for 2,000 yards in a season.

Behind Simpson's record-setting season, the Bills set an NFL record for most team rushing yards in a 14-game season, with 3,088. The Patriots surpassed this mark when the League moved to a 16-game schedule in1978, but in a League that has become pass-happy, this 14 game total may never be broken.  * *

4. Bruce Smith Sacks

With 200 sacks, most of which came while wearing a Bills uniform, Bruce Smith is the NFL's all-time career sack leader.

Smith's 13 seasons with 10 or more sacks is also an NFL record. Smith was a key member of the Bills teams that won six AFC Eastern Division Championships and four AFC titles.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.