Skip to main content

Bills player awards announced by MQC

The Monday Quarterback Club, the business group that backs the Buffalo Bills, will hold its annual Player Awards luncheon on Monday, Dec. 29, at the Millennium Hotel on Walden Avenue in Cheektowaga.

The annual event features Bills player selections for several awards, including Man of the Year, Special Teams Awards, Unsung Hero, and Rookie of the Year. Monday Quarterback Club president Gordon Ballard will present the awards to the players, and Bills chief operating officer Russ Brandon is scheduled to be in attendance representing the team.

"The Monday Quarterback Club is very proud to honor Buffalo Bills players who have gained the respect of their fellow players and the community both on and off the field," said Ballard.

The "Man of the Year" award goes to punter Brian Moorman. This award was established in 1986 and is presented for outstanding performance and dedication on the field and in the community. Moorman is the 23rd recipient of the award and is enjoying one of his finest seasons ever as a pro averaging nearly 45 yards per punt with 22 punts inside the 20 yard line. His continued work with his P.U.N.T. Foundation helps numerous kids that are facing life threatening illnesses.

Safety George Wilson won the "Steve Tasker Special Teams" award for his outstanding special teams play. This award is named in honor of former 7-time Pro Bowler and Bills Wall of Famer Steve Tasker who played for the Bills from 1986-1997. Wilson is the 16th winner in the 22-year history of the award. The former receiver turned safety is a special teams ace. Wilson is the ultimate hard working, team player that every coach wants on their squad.

The "Special Teams Kick Coverage Team" award went to linebacker and Orchard Park native Jon Corto. Established in 2003, this award is presented to the top special teams kick coverage team player of the year. Corto is the sixth recipient of the award and he consistently is in on coverage tackles. Corto is smart and an extremely hard worker that makes the plays on the coverage units.

The "Ed Abramoski Unsung Hero" award went to running back Fred Jackson for his positive contributions to the team on and off the field. This award is named in honor of former team athletic trainer (1960-97) Eddie Abramoski and was established in 1993. Jackson is the 15th different winner of the award. Jackson has elevated his game to compliment fellow running back Marshawn Lynch and can seemingly do it all. In addition to Lynch, Jackson has become a weapon that teams must prepare for and try to stop.

Cornerback and kick returner Leodis McKelvin is the 29th recipient of the "Buffalo Bills Rookie of the Year" award. The award was established in 1986. McKelvin is arguably one of the league's best return men and is at the top of the league in kickoff return yardage. He averages nearly 29 yards per return including a 98-yard touchdown return with another called back by penalty. He has also stepped into the cornerback slot near the end of the season and made some big plays for the team including 2 interceptions with one for a touchdown.

For 23 years, the Monday Quarterback Club player award winners have come to highly anticipate receiving their special one-of-a-kind caricature created by John Riordan.

Those interested in registering for the event on Monday, should call 693-3807 or visit the Club's web site at

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.