Bills release Leinart among 18 player cuts


The Bills got an early start on their roster reduction to 53 players on Friday, a day before the league's Saturday 6 pm deadline. Buffalo released 18 players with no real surprises among those who were waived.

QB Matt Leinart, who was signed just last weekend, was waived as well as Dorin Dickerson, who was on Buffalo's roster last season.

With the cuts, Buffalo's roster stands at 58 with Jairus Byrd's roster exemption expiring at 4 pm. The veteran safety will now count toward the team's roster total.

Here is the list of players released: LB Kourtnei Brown
RB Zach Brown
CB Crezdon Butler
G Antoine Caldwell
G Zach Chibane
DB Jordan Dangerfield
TE Dorin Dickerson
CB Kip Edwards
RB Kendall Gaskins
DL Jarron Gilbert
CB T.J. Heath
WR Brandon Kaufman
QB Matt Leinart
LB Keith Pough
TE Nick Provo
OT Zebrie Sanders
LB Brian Smith
C David Snow

This is such a tough day in the NFL. Very tough saying goodbye and good luck to close friends — Eric Wood (@EWood70) August 30, 2013

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.