Skip to main content

Bills release seven players

The reshaping of Buffalo's roster has begun in earnest as they waived seven players Tuesday. The Bills announced the release of TE Derek Fine, DE Jermaine McGhee, LB Ashlee Palmer, DT Marcus Smith, S John Wendling, WR Justin Jenkins and C Marvin Philip.

Fine made 11 starts in his two seasons with Buffalo, including six in 2009. He had 19 career receptions for 158 yards and a touchdown.

The tight end however, struggled in each of his first two professional seasons with injuries as thumb surgery forced him to miss the first six games of 2008 and a knee injury cut his 2009 campaign short as he went on injured reserve on Nov. 18 this past season.

Defensive end Jermaine McGhee was a free agent signee in 2009, but spent the year on injured reserve after tearing an ACL in the preseason.

Smith was originally added to Buffalo's roster in 2008 as a member of the practice squad. His 2009 season was also cut short by injury as he too wound up on injured reserve in the preseason.

Three of Buffalo's better special teams coverage performers were released by the Bills as well. Justin Jenkins, Ashlee Palmer and John Wendling were all among the team's leading special teams tacklers the past two seasons, with Wendling leading the squad in 2009 with 26 and Palmer second.

Jenkins, Palmer and Wendling however, rarely saw action on offense and defense respectively.

Center Marvin Philip was signed last offseason, but a knee injury early in training camp landed him on injured reserve along with McGhee and Smith.

As of Feb. 8 NFL clubs were able to release players.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.