Skip to main content

Bills select six captains

The Bills today announced QB Trent Edwards, WR Lee Evans, LB Kawika Mitchell, LB Paul Posluszny, P Brian Moorman and S George Wilson have been selected by their teammates as the Buffalo Bills captains for the 2009 season.

Sixth-year wide receiver Lee Evans and third-year quarterback Trent Edwards will represent the offense.  Seventh-year linebacker Kawika Mitchell and third-year linebacker Paul Posluszny will represent the defense, while the special teams unit will be represented by ninth-year punter Brian Moorman and fourth-year safety George Wilson.

Each player will have a letter 'C' badge affixed to their uniform to signify this honor.  Their responsibilities will include assisting in the on-field communication with the game officials.

Mitchell and Posluszny are first-time captains. Edwards and Wilson enter their second season in the role. Evans and Moorman enter their fourth season as captains.

For the past four years, Head Coach Dick Jauron has held a vote among the team's players in order to elect the captains.

In May 2007, the NFL introduced the team captain initiative with the purpose of supporting and recognizing the importance of team leadership.  The initiative has been strongly endorsed by the NFL head coaches and by the six-member NFL Player Advisory Council that was established by Commissioner Roger Goodell in conjunction with the NFL Players Association.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.