Skip to main content

Distinguished Service Award winners for 2008

The Monday Quarterback Club is proud to announce that former Buffalo Bills safety Mark Kelso and Buffalo Bills' VP of Community Relations Gretchen Geitter have been selected to receive the 23rd annual Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Distinguished Service Award for the 2008 season. Kelso and Ms. Geitter will be honored during pregame ceremonies at the Bills-Cleveland Browns game at Ralph Wilson Stadium on Monday, November 17 and at the Monday Quarterback Club luncheon at HSBC Arena earlier that day.

Gretchen Geitter, an 14-year employee of the Buffalo Bills and a graduate of SUNY Fredonia and Boston University, is being honored for her extensive work with WNY charities and community organizations since joining the Bills in 1994. This is the second year in a row that the Monday QB Club has honored a Bills' front-office employee with a special edition of the award.

Mark Kelso was a starting free safety for the Bills from 1986-93. He played in 142 regular season games over his eight-year career in Buffalo.  He retired from the NFL after the 1993 season and has been an active member of the WNY community for the past 15 years. He currently serves as the Development Director for St. Mary's High School in Lancaster, NY after spending several years as a classroom teacher in East Aurora, NY where he lives with his wife Robin and their children. He currently serves as the color commentator for Bills' games on the Buffalo Bills Radio Network.

The Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Distinguished Service Award was established in 1986 to honor former players for long and meritorious service to the Bills.  Kelso becomes the 29th former Bills player to be selected for the award over the past 23 years.

Ralph C. Wilson Distinguished Service Player Award Winners 

Date - Pos. - Name
1986 - DE - Ben Williams
1987 - G - Joe DeLamielleure
1988 - S - Steve Freeman
1989 - WR - Jerry Butler
1990 - G - Tim Vogler
1991 - QB - Joe Ferguson
1992 - OT - Ken Jones
1993 - CB - Booker Edgerson
1994 - CB - Butch Byrd
1995 - CB - Tony Greene
1996 - WR - Frank Lewis
1996 - RB - Roland Hooks
1997 - TE - Charles Ferguson
1997 - G - Jim Ritcher
1998 - OT - Stew Barber
1998 - QB/WR - Ed Rutkowski
1999 - G - Reggie McKenzie
1999 - NT - Fred Smerlas
2000 - LB - Darryl Talley
2000 - E - Ernie Warlick
2001 - C - Kent Hull
2001 - WR/KR - Steve Tasker
2002 - WR - Don Beebe
2003 - RB - Thurman Thomas
2004 - LB/P - Paul Maguire
2005 - QB - Frank Reich
2006 - DE - Phil Hansen
2007 - WR - Lou Piccone
2008 - S - Mark Kelso

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.