Marcell Dareus surges forward in Pro Bowl vote


Buffalo Bills defensive tackle Marcell Dareus has made a late surge and now joins LB Kiko Alonso as a leader in the fan Pro Bowl vote, as announced by on Wednesday.

Dareus had steadily been among the top four at his position, but leaped ahead of Kansas City's Dontari Poe take the lead among defensive tackles.

Alonso - a leading candidate from the start - maintained his lead among inside linebackers, with DE Mario Williams (3rd), DT Kyle Williams (4th), S Aaron Williams (7th), and Jairus Byrd (8th) ranking among the top 10 at their positions in the fan vote.

Denver Broncos quarterback PEYTON MANNING, with 1,227,068 votes, leads all NFL All-Stars in balloting for the 2014 Pro Bowl. New Orleans Saints quarterback DREW BREES (1,049,811 votes) ranks second overall, while Kansas City Chiefs running back JAMAAL CHARLES (825,345 votes), Seattle Seahawks running back MARSHAWN LYNCH (821,487 votes), and Detroit Lions wide receiver CALVIN JOHNSON (817,934 votes) round out the top five on

Balloting will conclude on Thursday, December 26, just three days prior to an exciting slate of Week 17 NFL games. The Pro Bowl players will be announced on Friday, December 27.

Players will later be assigned to teams through the first-ever Pro Bowl Draft, which will air on NFL Network during the week leading up to the game.

The 2014 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 26, 2014 and televised live on NBC at 7:00 PM ET from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.

For the first time ever, the Pro Bowl will be "unconferenced."

Gone is the familiar AFC vs. NFC match-up that has existed since 1971. Instead, players will be selected without regard to conference in voting by fans, coaches and players. For example, the top six quarterbacks following voting will earn distinction as All-Stars, regardless of how many are from AFC or NFC teams.

The Pro Bowl players are determined by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third toward determining the 86 All-Star players who will be eligible for the Pro Bowl Draft. Two "need" players will be also chosen by each head coach and must be long snappers.

NFL players and coaches will cast their votes on December 23-26. The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

Tickets for the 2014 Pro Bowl are now on sale through Fans may also call 1-800-745-3000 or visit the Aloha Stadium box office.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.