Bills trio racks up fan Pro Bowl votes


With coaches and players casting their 2013 Pro Bowl votes this week, Bills S Jairus Byrd, DT Kyle Williams and return man Leodis McKelvin rank among the league-leaders at the conclusion of the fan balloting.

The complete 2013 Pro Bowl rosters will be announced at 7 p.m. ET Wednesday, Dec. 26 on NFL Network's "Total Access."

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are based on the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third toward determining the 43-man rosters that represent the AFC and NFC in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches cast their votes Dec. 20-21.

Byrd, with 116,761 votes, finished second to Ravens S Ed Reed atop the AFC safeties list. He tied for the AFC lead with five interceptions, and has also forced three fumbles with six pass breakups in 2012. His 18 picks since entering the NFL in 2009 are tied for third-most overall.

McKelvin garnered 66,809 votes, fourth-most for an AFC kick returner. McKelvin, who saw his season end this week, is the only player in the NFL with two punt returns for touchdowns in 2012. He held the league lead for punt return average at 18.7 yards per return and ranked fourth (28.3 yards/return) in kickoff return average.

Williams (197,391 votes) finished fourth among AFC defensive tackles. A Pro Bowler in 2010, Williams leads the Bills defensive interior this season with 5.0 sacks and 40 tackles (26 solo).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.