Skip to main content

Easley selected as Buffalo Bills Ed Block Courage Award recipient

There are many stories of perseverance in the NFL. But perhaps none as complete as WR Marcus Easley's path to the pros.

ORCHARD PARK, NY – The Buffalo Bills announced that WR Marcus Easley was selected as the team's Ed Block Courage Award winner.

The Ed Block Courage Award is presented to the Buffalo Bills player who exemplifies a commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength, dedication and serves as a community role model for others.

Easley will take part in the 37th annual national Ed Block Courage Awards Foundation ceremony on March 16, 2015 at The Hilton Downtown Baltimore in Baltimore, MD and he will be honored with the 31 other award representatives from each NFL team.

Easley battled back from a major knee procedure following the 2013 season to play the first three games of the 2014 season.  He suffered a different knee injury in the team's week three game against San Diego.  Six weeks later, Easley returned in Week 11 against Miami and made a tackle on special teams in his first play back. Regarded as one of the top special teams gunners in the NFL, Easley played in 10 games on the season and finished with 11 tackles on special teams. In 2013, Easley recorded a career-high 23 tackles on special teams. His 34 special teams tackles since 2013 are the second-highest total in the NFL.

Easley has had to overcome multiple injuries and obstacles to get to his position today as one of the Bills special teams mainstays. Prior to his rookie season in 2010, Easley tore his meniscus and was placed on injured reserve. In 2011, a discovery of an irregular heartbeat led to him being placed on injured reserve again before the regular season. He was released before the regular season in 2012 and placed on the Bills practice squad until he was called up for their Week 13 game against Jacksonville where he made his debut and had 55-yard kickoff return that setup a touchdown.

In addition to his exemplary play on the field, Easley has also managed to make an impact in both the Buffalo community and his community back home in Connecticut. Easley hosted the 4th Annual E.A.S.Y. (Excellence, Achievement, Striving, Youthful) Summer Camp, a one-day football camp for children 6-15 years old, in Trumbull, CT this past summer.

The award is named for Ed Block, the former Head Athletic Trainer of the Baltimore Colts from 1954 through 1977 and continued to serve the team until his death in 1983. Block, a WWII veteran, cared for his player's physical health as well as for the well being of countless children. The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies who provide for the care and treatment of abused children in communities throughout the National Football League (NFL). That objective is coupled with the Foundation's commitment to celebrating players of inspiration in the NFL.

A list of Buffalo Bills Ed Block Courage Award past winners is listed below:

1985 - Jerry Butler

2000 – Joe Panos

1986 – Lucius Sanford

2001 – Jerry Ostroski

1987 – Robb Riddick

2002 – Tony Driver

1988 – Tim Vogler

2003 – Pat Williams

1989 – Steve Tasker

2004 – Travis Henry

1990 – Darryl Talley

2005 – Mark Campbell

1991 – Mark Kelso

2006 – Takeo Spikes

1992 – Bruce Smith

2007 – Kevin Everett

1993 – John Davis

2008 – Chris Kelsay

1994 – Kent Hull

2009 – James Hardy

1995 – Jim Kelly

2010 – Jairus Byrd

1996 – Mark Maddox

2011 – Andra Davis

1997 – Henry Jones

2012 – Kyle Williams

1998 – John Holecek

2013 – Arthur Moats

1999 – Sean Moran

2014 – Marcus Easley

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.