Skip to main content

Kelsay receives Ed Block Courage Award

The Buffalo Bills Ed Block Courage Award was presented to defensive end Chris Kelsay at the 31st Annual Ed Block Courage Awards held at Martins West in Baltimore, MD on Tuesday.

The Ed Block Courage Award is presented to the Bills player who exemplifies a commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.  The recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength, dedication and serves as a community role model for others.

Kelsay was honored along with 31 other award representatives from each NFL team.

The sixth-year veteran recovered from ankle surgery in early 2008 and produced a solid season for the Bills. He was selected by his teammates as a team captain for the second consecutive season and started all 16 games at left defensive end. Kelsay was a force in Buffalo's run defense by accounting for 82 tackles to rank fifth on the team. He also added 2.0 sacks, five passes defended and a forced fumble. Off the field, Kelsay has continued to make a sizeable impact in the Buffalo community. He made weekly visits to Kids Escaping Drugs, a long term residential treatment facility for teens with drug and/or alcohol addictions in West Seneca, NY. Kelsay and his wife Natalie support the Circle of Friends program, which is designed to give once in a lifetime opportunities to children faced with cancer.  He also established the Chris Kelsay TACKLE Foundation, which helps pediatric cancer patients.

The special award is named for Ed Block, the former Head Athletic Trainer of the Baltimore Colts from 1954-1977 and continued to serve the team until his death in 1983. Block, a WWII veteran, cared for his player's physical health as well as for the well being of countless children. The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies who provide for the care and treatment of abused children in communities throughout the National Football League (NFL).  That objective is coupled with the Foundation's commitment to celebrating players of inspiration in the NFL.  For more information, please visit

Buffalo Bills Ed Block Courage Award past winners 1984 – 2007

1984 – Steve Freeman
1985 – Jerry Butler
1986 – Lucius Sanford
1987 – Robb Riddick
1988 – Tim Voger
1989 – Steve Tasker
1990 – Darryl Talley
1991 – Mark Kelso
1992 – Bruce Smith
1993 – John Davis
1994 – Kent Hull
1995 – Jim Kelly
1996 – Mark Maddox
1997 – Henry Jones
1998 – John Holecek
1999 – Sean Moran
2000 – Joe Panos
2001 – Jerry Ostroski
2002 – Tony Driver
2003 – Pat Williams
2004 – Travis Henry
2005 – Mark Campbell
2006 – Takeo Spikes
2007 – Kevin Everett

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content