Lorenzo Alexander selected as Bills 2017 Walter Payton Man of the Year nominee

Buffalo Bills veteran linebacker Lorenzo Alexander, is a perfect example of how hard work, perseverance and commitment can lead to success. Throughout his 11-year NFL tenure, Alexander has been defined not only by his work on the field, but by his philanthropic efforts. His unconventional NFL journey has led him to five different cities and despite facing challenges along the way, Alexander has managed to not only overcome them, but thrive in each environment. It’s for these reasons and many more, that the Buffalo Bills selected Alexander as the team’s nominee for the prestigious 2017 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award.

When he came to Buffalo as a free agent in 2016, Alexander brought with him his passion for creating positive change. Integrating himself into the Bills locker room didn’t take long for the seasoned pro, nor did connecting with the Western New York Community. A known contributor on special teams, Alexander quickly established himself as a threat on defense. Posting a career-high sack record in 2016, with 12.5 on the campaign, Alexander earned Pro Bowl honors for the second time and his first time on defense.

Well-respected by his teammates, coaches and the entire Bills organization, Alexander continues to use his platform to inspire those around him to act. Giving his all in everything he does, he’s touched the lives of many locally and across the country.  In addition to the work his does with his ACES Foundation, which he started in Oakland, California in 2008, Alexander is a consistent participant in Bills community outreach initiatives. Doing his part to make a difference, Alexander is involved with a variety of programs such as the Bills Player and Coach Community Season Ticket Donation program, the Play 60 program and the annual Thanksgiving Blitz. This season, he’s also paid visits to the Belle Center, the Crucial Catch Family Fun Night and has taken the time to mentor students at South Park High School.

A role model, loving father and devoted husband, Alexander has earned recognition from his peers around the League. Recently named as a finalist for the Athletes in Action Bart Starr Award, he was also selected as the 2017 Call to Courage Award winner. With his Walter Payton Man of the Year Award nomination, Alexander will join an impressive list of past Bills winners.

Congratulations, Zo!

1999 Ruben Brown
2000 Marcellus Wiley
2001 Ruben Brown
2002 Ruben Brown
2003 Brian Moorman
2004 Drew Bledsoe
2005 London Fletcher
2006 London Fletcher
2007 Lee Evans
2008 Brian Moorman
2009 George Wilson
2010 Fred Jackson
2011 George Wilson
2012 Bryan Scott
2013 Arthur Moats
2014 Fred Jackson
2015 Eric Wood
2016 Eric Wood
2017 Lorenzo Alexander
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content