Moats selected as Bills Ed Block Courage Award recipient


The Buffalo Bills have announced that LB Arthur Moats was selected as the team's Ed Block Courage Award winner.

The Ed Block Courage Award is presented to the Buffalo Bills player who exemplifies a commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength, dedication and serves as a community role model for others.

Moats will take part in the 36th annual national Ed Block Courage Awards Foundation ceremony on March 17, 2014 at Martin's West in Baltimore, MD and he will be honored with the 31 other award representatives from each NFL team.

After recovering from sports hernia surgery in the 2013 offseason, Moats has started a career-best 12 games in 2013 as an inside linebacker.  He has established career highs in tackles (48) – including posting a career-best eight tackles in Buffalo's 24-23 victory over Carolina in week two.  He's been a mainstay on the Bills' special teams units with six tackles on the season.

Along with his standout play on the field, Moats has also left a lasting impact with his work in the Buffalo community.  Moats was named the 2013 Buffalo Bills United Way Worldwide spokesman where he was tasked with spreading the United Way's mission and encouraging people to donate their time to their local communities.  During the holiday season, Moats hosts select Buffalo students on a holiday shopping spree at a local department store, providing each student with a $200 gift card.  In addition to his work with the United Way, Moats is a lead spokesman for the Bills' Play 60 initiative.  

In his hometown of Portsmouth, Va., Moats donated $5,000 to his high school's football program through the NFL Foundation's Matching Grant, as well as an additional $2,500 to the school's art program, helping blend together two of his greatest passions.

The award is named for Ed Block, the former Head Athletic Trainer of the Baltimore Colts from 1954 through 1977 and continued to serve the team until his death in 1983. Block, a WWII veteran, cared for his player's physical health as well as for the well-being of countless children. The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies who provide for the care and treatment of abused children in communities throughout the National Football League (NFL). That objective is coupled with the Foundation's commitment to celebrating players of inspiration in the NFL.

A list of Buffalo Bills Ed Block Courage Award past winners is listed below:

1985 - Jerry Butler

2000 – Joe Panos

1986 – Lucius Sanford

2001 – Jerry Ostroski

1987 – Robb Riddick

2002 – Tony Driver

1988 – Tim Vogler

2003 – Pat Williams

1989 – Steve Tasker

2004 – Travis Henry

1990 – Darryl Talley

2005 – Mark Campbell

1991 – Mark Kelso

2006 – Takeo Spikes

1992 – Bruce Smith

2007 – Kevin Everett

1993 – John Davis

2008 – Chris Kelsay

1994 – Kent Hull

2009 – James Hardy

1995 – Jim Kelly

2010 – Jairus Byrd

1996 – Mark Maddox

2011 – Andra Davis

1997 – Henry Jones

2012 – Kyle Williams

1998 – John Holecek

2013 – Arthur Moats

1999 – Sean Moran

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content