Skip to main content

Player awards given by MQC

Buffalo Bills team player awards were given by the Monday Quarterback Club (MQC) at their annual Player Awards Luncheon held at the Millenium Hotel in Cheektowaga on Monday.

The "Steve Tasker Special Teams" award went to kicker Rian Lindell. Lindell had a stellar season where he made 28 of 33 field goal attempts (nearly 85%), scored over 100 points on the season and surpassed the 1,000 point mark for his career. He made 24 of his 24 point after touchdown attempts and amazingly has never missed an attempt (306 PAT's) in his entire career (10 seasons).

The "Special Teams Kick Coverage" award was shared by linebacker Jon Corto and safety John Wendling. Corto won the award in 2008, and Wendling was a first-time winner. Both Corto and Wendling credited their special teams coach Bobby April and their teammates, especially punter Brian Moorman, for their success on the kick coverage unit.

The  "Eddie Abramoski Unsung Hero" award went to defensive tackle Kyle Williams. Williams had career highs in tackles (66) and sacks (4), forced a fumble and all while missing two games due to injury in 2009. He has started 57 games in his four seasons with the Bills.

The "Rookie of the Year" award went to safety Jairus Byrd. Byrd had nine interceptions, 11 passes defended and 45 tackles in just 11 games as a starter.  He was voted to the 2010 Pro Bowl in Miami, and finished second in the NFL's Rookie of the Year balloting.

The "Man of the Year" award was given to running back Fred Jackson. Jackson finished the 2009 campaign with over 1,062 yards rushing for a 4.5 yards per carry average, caught 46 balls for another 371 yards receiving and also returned kickoffs for 1,014 yards.  Jackson is the first player in the history of the NFL  with 1,000 yards rushing and 1,000 yards returning in the same season.

At the same luncheon, the Buffalo Bills/NFL Walter Payton Man of the Year award was presented to safety George Wilson for his countless community endeavors and outstanding play on the field.

"We congratulate and are proud to honor these players who have gained the respect of the community both on and off the field," said Gordon Ballard, MQC president.

The MQC's annual awards event was their last program of the 2009 season. The Monday Quarterback Club is the business group that backs the Bills.

To become a member of the MQC or for more information, please visit their website at

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content