What Bills fans need to know about tonight's NFL Honors awards show

Buffalo Bills vs Miami Dolphins, Wild Card Game, January 15, 2023 at Highmark Stadium.

The NFL Honors show is tonight at 9 p.m. and will air live on NBC, Peacock and NFL Network. The 12th annual event highlights the NFL's best players and performances of the regular season during a two-hour broadcast with some of the game's biggest stars in attendance.

This year's NFL Honors show will take place at Symphony Hall in Phoenix — the same city as Super Bowl LVII — and will be hosted by Kelly Clarkson.

The Buffalo Bills have several nominees for some of the top awards, including MVP, Coach of the Year and Walter Payton Man of the Year. Here's a breakdown of awards that the Bills could take home.

AP Most Valuable Player

QB Josh Allen is one of five finalists for the MVP award, alongside QB Patrick Mahomes, QB Jalen Hurts, QB Joe Burrow and WR Justin Jefferson. Allen is an MVP finalist for the second time in his career (2020) and finished second the last time he was up for the award.

The finalists were determined through the AP's new voting system, which asks voters to rank their top five picks for MVP and top three for the other awards.

AP Coach of the Year

For the third time in the last four seasons, Sean McDermott is a finalist for AP Coach of the Year. The Bills head coach finished fourth in voting in 2019 and second in 2020. He's helped guide the Bills to three-straight AFC East division titles.

Walter Payton Man of the Year

OL Dion Dawkins is the Bills' nominee for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award, an award that recognizes players for their dedication to the community and their play on the field.

Dawkins started the Dion's Dreamers Foundation with the goal of providing mentorship and support to young men and women in underserved communities and to those in a place of mental, physical, and financial hardship.

NFL Fan of the Year presented by Captain Morgan

The Buffalo Bills selected John Lang, also known as "Bills Elvis," the nominee for 2022 NFL Fan of the Year award. Lang, a Lockport Native, has been a season ticket holder since 1992 which is the same year his Elvis wardrobe came to be.

The NFL Fan of the Year program celebrates extraordinary fans who inspire others through their love of football. Lang will be traveling to Arizona for the Super Bowl in February and attending NFL Honors, where one nominee from one of the 32 clubs will be crowned the 2022 NFL Fan of the Year.

Here's a full list of all the awards at the NFL Honors

  • AP Most Valuable Player presented by Invisalign
  • AP Coach of the Year
  • AP Comeback Player of the Year
  • AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Microsoft Surface
  • AP Defensive Player of the Year
  • AP Offensive Rookie of the Year
  • AP Defensive Rookie of the Year
  • Best Moment of the Year
  • Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide
  • NFL Inspire Change Tribute
  • Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023
  • FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year
  • Salute to Service Award presented by USAA
  • Bud Light Celly of the Year
  • NFL Fan of the Year presented by Captain Morgan
  • Deacon Jones Sack Leader Award
  • Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award
  • AP Assistant Coach of the Year

Related Content