Bills make these moves to reach the 53-man roster limit


It's never easy, but it's necessary. The Bills released 34 players and made one trade to reach the NFL-mandated 53-man roster limit.

Veteran QB A.J. McCarron, signed by the club as a free agent in March, was traded to the Oakland Raiders. In exchange, the Bills receive a 2019 fifth-round pick from the Raiders.

McCarron played every snap of Thursday night's game in Chicago and engineered a furious fourth quarter rally in the Bills come-from-behind victory.

The Bills now have 52 players on the roster.

Tight End Nick O'Leary, the Bills sixth round pick in 2015, was released in today's final cutdown. O'Leary played 35 games in his three years with Buffalo and caught 22 passes last year – two of them for touchdowns.

Other notable names released include wide receiver Corey Coleman, wide receiver Austin Proehl and wide receiver Brandon Reilly.

Photos of the 2018 Buffalo Bills. Meet the 53 is presented by WNY Dental.

Below is a complete list of the players released by the Bills:

DE Mat Boesen

OG Ike Boettger

DB Breon Borders

DB Ryan Carter

WR Kaelin Clay

WR Corey Coleman

OT Gerhard de Beer

WR Malachi Dupre

RB Keith Ford

DT Rickey Hatley

DE Albert Havili

OT Josh James

DE Mike Love

DB Dean Marlowe

TE Nick O'Leary

WR Cam Phillips

OT Mo Porter

WR Austin Proehl

C Adam Redmond

WR Brandon Reilly

RB Sam Rogers

DE Ryan Russell

LB Corey Thompson

TE Keith Towbridge

LB Tanner Vallejo

DB Levi Wallace

OT De'Ondre Wesley

LB Xavier Woodson-Luster

RB Travaris Cadet

DE Terrence Fede

DB Kelcie McCray

P Jon Ryan

WR Rod Streater

DT Tyrunn Walker