Skip to main content


Josh Allen, Sean McDermott named finalists for NFL Honors awards


QB Josh Allen has been named one of five finalists for the AP NFL MVP award, the league announced on Wednesday. 

In his fifth season with the Bills, Allen threw for 4,283 yards in the regular season which ranked seventh in the league, and the QB is tied for second most touchdowns with 35. Allen was also recognized as the AFC Offensive Player of the Week three times this season.

Allen, who was also an MVP finalist in 2020, joins a list with three other quarterbacks and one wide receiver. Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes, Philadelphia Eagles QB Jalen Hurts, and Cincinnati Bengals QB Joe Burrow, as well as Minnesota Vikings WR Justin Jefferson are the other four MVP finalists.

The league also announced that head coach Sean McDermott is one of five finalists for the AP Coach of the Year award for the third time in his head coaching career.

During his sixth season as the Bills' head coach, McDermott led his team to the AFC Divisional Round after ending the regular season 13-3 and earning the AFC East division title for the third straight season. McDermott's selfless actions further speak to who he is as a person and a coach. He supported his team through a Buffalo blizzard, and he put his players before the sport when S Damar Hamlin suffered cardiac arrest and insisted that being there for his players was more important than continuing a game.

McDermott joins Philadelphia Eagles HC Nick Siriani, San Francisco 49ers HC Kyle Shanahan, New York Giants HC Brian Daboll, and Jacksonville Jaguars HC Doug Pederson as the 2022 Coach of the Year finalists.

The winners will be announced at the NFL Honors on February 9.

Related Content