Skip to main content

Bills Today

Bills Today | Josh Allen and the Bills eager to get back to work


1. Josh Allen and the Bills eager to get back to work

Josh Allen, Sean McDermott, and Lorenzo Alexander all hit the red carpet at the NFL Awards on Saturday.

"This is crazy, I feel like a movie star, don't like it. I want to play football," Allen told 13WHAM on the red carpet.

After experiencing the excitement of Super Bowl week in Miami, Allen said he is eager to get back to work for the 2020 season.

"It hurts, I'd rather be preparing for a game [on Super Bowl Sunday] than walking down this carpet," Allen said. "It's hard to say that but it does put things into perspective about how close we were this season. We have a lot to grow from and a lot to work on. We got to 10 wins and to the playoffs and nearly won a game. With how young we are and how eager we are to get back to work, I have been talking to our guys, we just want to play."

Allen was also there in support of his head coach and now-former teammate. McDermott was one of the finalists for coach of the year while Alexander was the Bills nominee for the Walter Payton man of the year award.

"It means a lot," Allen said about McDermott's nomination. "We follow his lead and his example that is set forth and examples of stuff in the game and teaching us situational football. He's been fantastic for us and not only that we have Lorenzo for an award. I'm excited to sit down and root these guys on."

2. Players weigh-in on Steve Tasker not being in the Hall of Fame

Buffalo Bills Wall of Fame member Steve Tasker was once again left off the final choices to make the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The five-person class was announced on Saturday, while Tasker wasn't one of the 15 finalists, current and former players weighed in on his case.

"I am extremely disappointed. If there is anyone who has a complete body of work that has played this game, it is Steve Tasker," Bruce Smith told The Buffalo News. "The fact that he's gotten snubbed for a number of years, that is extremely disappointing. He is the greatest all-around special teams player that's ever played the game – hands down."

"I tell people this: 'Great is you did something spectacular in a moment in time. Greatness says I did something spectacular over time, all the time.' He did spectacular stuff all the time," said Michael Irvin. "Everybody said when they went in those special teams meetings, 'This No. 89 right here, we've got to do something to stop this fella,' and he still got it done. He still made those plays. That's how you determine this guy belongs among the greats."

"You really look at a guy that defined the role that players like myself and others have now, you look no further than Steve," New England Patriots special teamer Matthew Slater said. "He set the bar, he set the standard. I think it's because of him that guys like myself have been able to have a career in this league. He's a special player. I've said it all year long, 100-year anniversary of this league, you start telling unique stories about so many of the great players that have played in this league, and you can't tell all those stories without telling his."

Tap to view photos of Bills players, coaches and Legends on the scene in Miami for Super Bowl LIV.

3. McDermott, White receive votes for respective NFL Honors

Sean McDermott and Tre'Davious White were each up for an award at the NFL Honors. Unfortunately, neither won their respective award but each received votes.

McDermott finished tied for fourth place in the voting for coach of the year with two votes. Ravens coach John Harbaugh was the runaway winner with 27 votes, 49ers coach Kyle Shanahan had 14, Packers coach Matt LaFleur had three, Steelers coach Mike Tomlin had two, and Saints coach Sean Payton had one. writer Adam Schein came forward to say he was one of the votes for McDermott.

For AP Defensive player of the year, White finished with one vote. The final breakdown of votes went:

Stephon Gilmore – 21

Chandler Jones -14

T.J. Watt – 10

Shaq Barrett – 2

Danielle Hunter – 1

Tre'Davious White – 1

Aaron Donald – 1

Related Content